Saturday, August 27, 2011

Ayden and I would like to wish all of you Selamat Hari Raya! :) Maaf Zahir dan Batin.

Sloppy kisses,
'Aainaa

Friday, August 26, 2011

Random things I think my house needs.

1. These scrabble cushions. Because I like spelling what I'd like to do on my bed. And while we're at it, my couch needs this too. Helps Ayden become a good speller too! Kills two birds with one stone doesn't it?

2. This antique white bookcase. We still don't have a bookcase in our apartment yet, and it is killing me!

3. Crazy fun coasters. Because every house needs coasters which aren't plasticky and flowery. My fav picks here (will sure to delight Twilight fans!) and here.

4. Maybe if I had this on my kitchen wall I'd feel like cooking. And we will never run out of milk, bread and eggs...

Have a good weekend everyone!

sloppy kisses,
'Aainaa

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Hello, my name is Ayden.

I want to squeeze Ayden into this:



It is definitely a sign that the seller decided to use the name Aiden as her display pic. All we need is to change the 'i' to a 'y'.


Now, where's that credit card of mine...


sloppy kisses,


'Aainaa


Delivery gown? Really?

Ok, so my last post was about random stuff I think I need. While we're on the subject - apparently, you can now buy your own delivery gown. This just goes to show that people will make money from ANYTHING. My delivery gown from Prince Court was a hospital standard soft, peachy pink colour (I remember my mom commenting on how pretty the colour was, oddly enough). Give or take a few hours and that nice, soft pink became another less appealing shade as it was slowly but surely drenched with bodily fluids. And no gown, no matter how gorgeous would make me look lovely as I huffed and puffed in the labour room, wild hair pancaked to my sweaty head, face red from pushing. You know that scene in the movie where the woman is screaming, face scrunched up, legs in the air, while everyone yells at her to "PUSH! PUSH! PUSH!! PUSH MACAM MARAH!!! MARAH AAINAA MARAH!!" That was me, except that it would be a Malay movie. Now imagine throwing this gown into that image I just painted.

Kourtney Kardashian should have worn one of these though, because her delivery experience was obviously supernaturally easy (and damn her for making me believe that mine would be the same!!). Kourtney, you would have looked lovely in this. Just sayin'.

sloppy kisses,
'Aainaa

Random things I think I need.

Here is a list of random stuff which I have been checking out and having to hold myself back from whipping out the credit card (yes, I now have a CREDIT CARD, I feel so grown up) so I can spend shamelessly. I will admit that this list is made up mostly of clothes for me and things for Ayden. In no particular order:

1. This rad navajo cardigan. Love, love, love.

2. While we're on the topic of cover ups, here's another gorgeous draped jacket. Butterflies on a jacket. How do I not own one of these??

3. This vintage chanel brooch would go with everything I wear to work.

4. The search for the perfect denim jacket is still on. This looks pretty good.

5. I am SERIOUSLY considering purchasing this giraffe teether for Ayden online. He is obviously going through a teething stage, gnawing on everything and anything in sight, including my fingers, his fingers and my hair. And this teether has really good reviews too!

6. This onesie cracks me up. Rock on, baby!


sloppy kisses,
'Aainaa


We are going to be in The Star this Sunday!

My friend Iwan from The Star rang me up a few days ago and told me he wanted to feature my family for an article in The Star, about raya-ing in the city instead of balik kampung. Since I've been a city girl all my life, this was right up my alley :) It'll be in the mstar section, as the article's in malay. Ayden makes an appearance as well! heheh. It's pretty cool that I'll have something to keep and show him when he's all grown up!

sloppy kisses,
'Aainaa

These almost made me pee in my pants!


Just a few links to brighten up your Thursday! These two are HILARIOUS:

Why having a toddler is like being at a frat party - be sure to read the comments as well!

Crappy laws of parenting

...and this last link will make you shiver in your boots, eeek:

Shark pic

Enjoy!

Sloppy kisses,
'Aainaa

Thursday, August 18, 2011

Au Revoir ridiculously high heels!


I don't know if anyone knows this, but I love my 5 inch high heels as much as Victoria Beckham loves a good fake tan and being skinny. Pre-pregnancy, I was all 5 inch heels any time of the day, anywhere - even going to my bathroom, if I felt like it. Exaggerating just a tad. Just.

So during my pregnancy, of course I took a break from anything that lifted me off more than 0.5cm off the ground, to avoid being pregnant roadkill. I lived in flats and my Havaianas. To put it simply, I was NOT a Rachel Zoe. Fast forward nine months later post delivery, I was looking forward to rocking my massive heels again.


Not happening.


My feet are just not having it. It's like they've gone to mommyhood-land and do not want to come back. If my feet were alive, they would be wearing mom jeans and driving minivans. The first time I put on heels was 2 months after giving birth, on the way to a job interview. I nonchalantly slipped on my trusty old pair of black stilettos (after dusting off what looked like a small city of moss) without so much as a thought, attempting to pick up from where I left off. A few shaky steps later, I almost fell face forward. I wobbled like J-lo's ass would wobble on a treadmill. It felt WEIRD. I swear I saw some disapproving glances from onlookers practically thinking aloud "Eh kalau tak reti pakai tinggi-tinggi toksahlah pakai oii". And after a few minutes of clunking about in my heels, my feet HURT LIKE A MOTHER. Pun intended. I mean, when I'm out with Ayden I can kiss my high heels buhbye because it seems almost absurd that I would totter about in anything more than an inch high, because if he's not in his stroller, I am carrying him. And the boy ain't light, let me tell you.


Right, second attempt at wearing heels - bought a nifty pair with a shorter heel (around 3 inches or so) for work, telling myself I could work it, no problem. I mean, if I could endure 23 hours of labour and pop a baby out of me, I'm sure I could get the hang of heels again, right?? Wore them to work, and by 3pm all I felt like doing was hurling the mother effers out the window. I didn't care if they're all patent and delicious looking and look like louboutin replicas - those heels will cause some serious injuries, people! They are a hazard! They will kill you! Seriously, how in the world did I manage back then?? How did I master the act of walking for HOURS in four inch heels without so much as flinching?! Ugh.


Something tells me that I will never be able to re-master this skill. My 5 inch heels that I received for my hantaran (never got a chance to wear them because I got pregnant, like a second after the wedding) will still be collecting dust at the back of my wardrobe. Or the only time I'll likely whip out anything more than a 3 inch heel will be when I know I'll be spending most of the outing sitting down. Like to a wedding or something. Or to raya openhouses, when I'll only wobble to a house and back to my car. Better than nothing right?

There goes my fooling everyone into thinking I'm model height when I'm actually not. Damn.


Sloppy kisses,
'Aainaa






*cough* *cough*

Excuse the cobwebs that have been building up. Feels good to be back, but my posts might come fewer or more frequently from now on - whenever I have the time to blog, I will jump at the chance. Just a couple of updates on what's goin' down in this life of mine:

- I have a job. I am officially a working mom now, it has been 3 weeks since I last left the world of lounging around in my jammies and kissing Ayden throughout the day. Now I only get to kiss him in the morning before I dash out the door, and late in the evening when I get back from work. He is usually at his cranky best around 8pm onwards, but I muster every strength I have at the end of a long work day and put him to sleep. No matter HOW cranky.

- I am still overweight. I still have 10kgs left to go, and I am SERIOUSLY thinking of going to the gym everyday after work or before work, since my new company has a gym. First I'll need to get myself some shoes for this. And some cute work out gear, maybe.

- My sweet sour bear of a boy has just turned 4 months old. Man, do they grow up fast. He is now always saying "mammamama" which sounds like mama, although we all know he is most likely not calling for me, it still sounds like music to my ears. He also bites his bottom lip a lot, can sit up well (with assistance) and likes to look at cats. The other day, I took him to Aquaria and he spent a good hour and a half (minus the 10 minutes he was asleep in his stroller), looking at all the big fishies and little fishies. Oh, he is also now bald. Well, he was bald when we shaved all his hair off after his aqiqah, but now it has grown back into a sort of crew cut. But the funny thing is, he has this bald stripe all around his head, and people have asked me if I shaved his head that way on purpose. Why in the world would I do something like that, people?? hahah.

-I miss Ayden everyday that I am at work. Big surprise.

- I want these sunglasses.

That is all. For now :)


sloppy, working momma kisses xx

Saturday, July 16, 2011

My sweet baby boy is 3 months old!


Three months of boundless, heart-bursting, cheek-kissing joy.



You're my home. I love you, baby.


Friday, July 8, 2011

Ayden the attention seeker!


Getting smooches from the laydees at my cousin Diyana's nikah last Sunday! What a ladies man ;)

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

I apologise.

okay, I'm pretty sure I've lost a lot of my usual readers when I made this blog private in April. Some of you were friendly enough to actually e-mail me or message me on facebook requesting for an invite, and I was pretty much an a-hole because I didn't reply most of the messages I received. But trust me, I was pleasantly surprised and touched that silent readers I didn't know existed came up to me (well, sort of), wishing me well for my delivery and wanting to see Ayden. I was honestly, very touched. But I guess during the first month after my delivery, I wasn't in the right frame of mind to reply messages or e-mails, let alone start blogging. So unfortunately, I left most of the messages hanging, wanting to reply, but never getting around to it. For this, I apologise profusely. I must seem like a snooty ass person, when I'm far from one! haha. But trust me when I say I appreciate every single reader who takes the time to tell me they enjoy reading my blog. Because it's you guys that make me want to write and update (else where's the fun in writing to yourself eh?).

So to those who messaged me or emailed me, I'm sorry if it seemed like I ignored your messages. You lovely readers are the sole reason my blog isn't private right now :) It's awesome enough, knowing that there are people out there who enjoy my mundane blog posts! For you people, i'll keep on posting random stuff! ;)

sloppy kisses,
'Aainaa

Conversations with my stomach Part II

Me: Hey again.

Stomach: Wassup.

Me: So..I'm really really thankful that you carried Ayden around for nine months and kept him safe. I know it ain't easy...

Stomach: No sweat, dude.

Me: ...I mean, all that stretching and all...

Stomach: Yep.

Me: Yeahhh. Thanks for that....

*awkward pause*

Me: Anyway, don't know if you've realised this but...we're not pregnant anymore.

Stomach: Ahuh.

Me: So could you do me a teeny tiny favour and go back to how you were, you know, before you got all big and stretchy? Not looking like you're around four months preggers and stuff? I mean last thing I need right now is people thinking Ayden's getting a sibling. Already. Heh heh. *awkward laugh*

Stomach: Sorry kiddo, no can do.

Me: Just a ease up a little on the flab and the bloating, that's all...

Stomach: Nahhh.

Me: Sigh. Guess I can't have everything can I?

Stomach: Nope.

Me: Salmon sushi?

Stomach: Nope.

Me: I tried.


Woke up this morning to this face.



I swear, this boy makes me grin like an idiot everytime!

xxx

Sunday, June 26, 2011

Next To You


I'm not a Justin Bieber fan, but Yasir says this song is for me...and I think it's really sweet and the lyrics are pretty powerful.

Happy Monday people! :)

sloppy kisses.

Gah.

My weight has decided to rest comfortably at 63kgs. 63. Awesome.

Fine, i'm partly, no mostly to blame because I have yet to start exercising my butt off. I blame all those times I ordered two desserts at Delicious when I was pregnant, or used being preggers as an excuse to stuff my face every five friggin' seconds. Padan muka, Aainaa!

Went 'shopping' at Sungei Wang yesterday to find an outfit for my cousin's hen night because I can't fit into 99.9% of my old clothes and am still sadly wearing outfits I wore when I was pregnant. If I could talk to my old 50kg body again, I would apologise for taking it forgranted - all those times I would whine about my thighs looking slightly sausage-y, or when I couldn't fit into a size 6 jeans. I miss looking at the cutesy clothes in Sungei Wang, grabbing whatever tickled my fancy without thinking twice, trying them on at home and actually FITTING into them. Now, it's more of ohmygod these clothes are so tiny. My arms would look fat in this. What a cute outfit but no way in hell is my ass getting into THAT.

LE SIGH.

I will lose this weight. Even if it takes forever. This ass will fit into a size 8 pair of jeans again, if it's the last thing I do!!!!

Just chillin'!


I have become 'word lazy', so I'll post pics of Ayden to distract y'all instead!

Ayden hanging out with his 4-year-old Uncle Rayyan. Methinks he needs a cousin closer to his age. Wink wink.

Kakak, you reading this??


Fav pic of the week.

I'd like to think that Ayden's trying to show us his favourite number, instead of maybe attempting to pick his nose. haha. Also, his hair is getting too long so it flattens out into a nerdy hairstyle!

Hope everyone had a good weekend!

xxx

Ayden oh Ayden!


From carrying you around for nine months and dreaming of meeting you...




...to finally having you in my arms.

How did I get so lucky? :)



Saturday, June 18, 2011

Happy Father's Day, love.


To the best father I know. I may not say it everyday, but I appreciate every little sacrifice you make - working till (very!) late, running errands, spending your hard earned money to stock up on baby supplies instead of that new game that just came out, waking up to change Ayden's diaper at 3am even when you have work the next day - just to name a few.

I am so proud of the role model and father you are to Ayden, the loving husband you are to me and the man you've become.

Happy Father's Day sayang. You've come a long way :)