Monday, February 7, 2011

Cake never looked so yummy.

I'm obsessed. And this obsession is even more dangerous than my Juicy obsession, god help me. Obviously, it's no secret that I have been perving over Juicy Couture diaper bags (call it maternal instincts if you will), but I just haaaaaad to google Petunia Pickle Bottom diaper bags. Like it wasn't enough that I was craving for Juicy diaper bags, which were already out of my budget. I actually featured a bag from Petunia Picklebottom in my previous post on diaper bags, but now I am in love with them (the Cake line only though) more than ever. Does not help AT ALL that these bags are named after delectable sounding dessert. Sigh.

So the Cake line from Petunia Pickle Bottom carries two styles of diaper bags, though more are on the way for 2011. I think I like the Cosmopolitan Carryall style more, just because the straps aren't thick. Here are a few in the Cosmopolitan Carryall:
Chocolate Decadence Cake

L-R: Mocha Berry Cream Cake, Licorice Pudding Cake


Chocolate Cherry Cake

Chocolate cherry cake...chocolate decadence...could you just DIE?? Aaaack. I love the vintage, velvet texture and doctor bag style - sucker for all things vintage, me. And here's the Society Satchel diaper bag design:

Red Velvet Cake

I stumbled upon this blog of a momma who reviews Petunia Pickle Bottom bags. Read her review of the Red Velvet Cake here. She has a few Cake bags - oh so jealousss. Ways to wear the Red Velvet Cake bag:


A fedora goes well with this bag. That's a stylish momma if I've ever seen one!


Mmmmm...red velvet cake. (Sorry couldn't resist :p)

Anyway, back to the different colours!
Juniper Berry Cake


French Gooseberry Cake


Midnight Blackberry Cake



Raspberry Cream Cake

More colours from where these babies came from. And after reading the reviews, I'm even more obsessed with it - uber spacious to fit all your bebe's stuff, and comes with a changing mat at the bottom of the bag (the zippered compartment). Shoulder strap included, if you want to be hands free. And when your baby grows up, hello, use it as a handbag! WHAT AN INVESTMENT. Plus, how annoyingly cute is it that the zipper actually says 'CAKE'?:


Only setback is it might make you unconsciously start to crave for cake everytime you zip up..


And yes, I watched a review of the bag on Youtube.

Lorrrd, hear my prayer, all I want after my delivery is a healthy baby boy....and a Petunia Pickle Bottom Cake bag in Midnight Blackberry or Red Velvet. That is all.






Sloppy cake kisses,
'Aainaa

Sunday, February 6, 2011

Baby shower updates.

So I called the store to see if my dress was ready, and it isn't!! I have a feeling that when it IS ready, there will still be a bit of alteration that STILL needs to be done, because isn't that just how the universe works?? Darn it. By hook or by crook, it better be ready before Friday or heads are going to roll!!!!!

Anyway, breatheeee. Haha. Here's a pic of the facebook event invite that my friend Leanne designed!


Super cute :) Thanks heaps Leanne! Initially, I thought Marmalade in Bangsar Village II would be a cute set-up for a baby shower (yellow wallpaper, ceiling lamps etc), but because the guest list might be more than 20 people, Marmalade told me that they would have to treat it as a private function and charge 50 ringgit per head for a high tea buffet. I really didn't want to force anyone to fork out 50 bucks for a baby shower, so Marmalade was a no go. So finally, my girlfriends decided to have it at Seri Maya Apartment's function room, with a high tea buffet I think, which might charge around RM30 a head..not too sure of the exact details of that one yet. Seriously, if I could afford to pay for everyone's food, I would in a heartbeat :( I'll be chipping in for the decor, which I'll be leaving in my friends' hands...can't wait can't wait! *does a little dance*

sloppy baby shower kisses,

'Aainaa and Ayden :)

Ayden's wishlist

Here's the link again, because my baby shower is looming and just in case people can't find it!

Wishlist!

Sloppy kisses.

Easy on the rice.

Went for my check up this morning, and doc told me to cut back on rice and carbs. I put on 4 kgs in a span of a month, and he looked at me like I had swallowed an elephant. Crap. I am now officially 30 weeks and baby is measuring at least 32 weeks! Some people say it's because I drink a lot of ice water...I'm not much of a 'hot drink' person, I like my drinks ice cold! So I know for a fact that my confinement period is going to be TORTURE.

Just now for lunch, I attempted to eat just a weeee bit of rice, with my veggies, fish and chicken. Bet you in half an hour's time I'll be super starving again. aaaaaaahhhhhhh! Oh, and I am anemic, my blood count level or something is around 10, while the normal level should be 12 to 14 I think. So that explains why I get lightheaded quite easily...

Oh two days ago Yasir and I saw Ayden sucking his thumb on the monitor during a scan. That lil bugger :)

xxx

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Shower me with your looove!

So I just found out my baby shower is next week, 12th Feb 2011. Yayyy we're (Ayden and I) sooo excited! :D As of now, my dear girlfriends are searching frantically for a venue to accommodate everyone, mucho love to these people. I know how much of a headache it can get, I'm sure! The theme is Carnival (fun fun fun!), and it's going to be a co-ed baby shower - would be kinda strange to have an all girl baby shower, when I'm carrying a boy... so co-ed it is!

I've pretty much bought my baby shower dress...it has to meet all the criteria I have in mind, which are..

- NOT sleeveless (this is to cover my flabby arms!)...ideally, up to my elbows
- Colourful to fit the carnival theme
- Long (to cover my flabby thighs)
- Pretty

Obviously, I was on a hunt for a maxi dress if my dress had to be long, but a lot of the pretty maxi dresses I came across were strapless or sleeveless. Finally, I found a long-sleeved maxi dress which wasn't sleeveless and fit the colourful theme, in Bangsar Village II. One setback though - the sleeves were waaay too long and baggy, which made it kind of resemble a colourful nightgown. So I asked the salesgirl if they could have the sleeves chopped off to reach my elbows, and she said she'd get back to me. A few days later, she called and said it was do-able! So the husband and I made our way to BV II yesterday so I could show him the dress. He seemed to have liked it, but I couldn't really tell if it was because he was just tired and wanted to get it over and done with, or if he actually really liked it. Oh well. At that point though, I was feeling a tad bit lightheaded, so I was influenced by my 'malasness' to walk around as well, and went with the maxi. Thanks sayang, for buying it for me! Me love you long time!

Can't wait to pop into a salon for a simple blowdry before the baby shower too, it has been AGES since my hair was touched by a professional stylist!! And I might just smear on some nailpolish if I'm feeling festive. Gotta look cute! Ha ha.

sloppy kisses,
Aainaa

Monday, January 31, 2011

Wishlist is complete!

Okay, Ayden's wishlist is complete! yaaaay!

sloppy kisses xxx

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Juicy-licious.

Seriously, I have never perved over anything more in my life (Ryan Reynolds, you lose, sorry!). I've been googling Juicy Couture diaper bags like nobody's business, I think I've seen every model they have out there! The thing about diaper bags is that...they're really for the mom, instead of the child, admit it. I mean, if we're going to spend days lugging around a diaper bag for our babies, we might as well make it a stylish one, don't you think? I suppose I'm so obsessed with getting a statement diaper bag because that's the only thing I'll be getting for the baby which will actually complement my style. After all that 9 months of carrying around a living being in our tummies and finally going through The Big Push, I say we mothers deserve a nice diaper bag! I stand my ground, men!!

Obviously, Juicy Couture bags are waaaaaay pricey in Malaysia (a diaper bag will set you back more than RM1k), so getting one here is totally out of the question. They are significantly cheaper in The USA though (around 200 US dollars), so my only glimmer of hope is to get my darling cousin Aza or Farah's pilot hubster who travels to the states often to help me get my hands on one.

Anyway, the bags come with a changing mat, bib and burp cloth which is like the cutest thing ever:

Depending on the colour of your bag, you get a matching set. Never would I imagine my child throwing up on a Juicy Couture burp cloth. Faaaabulous, daahling.

At the moment I'm semi obsessing with just getting a black one, since I am having a boy, and black would go with every outfit...




Trust me, this looks better in real life. Not that I've seen this particular colour in real life, but Charlotte Church uses one and I saw a tabloid pic of her lugging it around and it looked awesome. It's huge, so you can practically see it from a mile away :




This one's pretty snazzy too:



No, that ain't me holding the bag, though I wish it were! I had to get this off some random site, couldn't find a proper pic. I love, love this. And I LOVE the strap. Found a pic of Jessica Alba toting a Juicy diaper bag in another model, but with the similar strap (except the colours are in reverse):



At first I wasn't bothered with having huge straps on my diaper bag, but I've realised that they actually come in handy when you're struggling to hold your baby. So all you do is sling away. Plus, with the straps, your hubs can totally lug the bag around without looking gay. Not that there's anything wrong with looking gay, but you know how straight men are!

Then, there are the cutesy coloured ones which make you go 'awwwwww' (or that could just be me):This totally reminds me of Juicy chewing gum. Coincidental? Btw, Yasir thinks this colour's pretty cute too. Ha, apa lagi sayang? :P






...yeah, that last pic's kinda small and crappy, but you get an idea of how cute it would look in real life, right? Right?? They have heaps of other colours too, google if you're curious. I purposely left out the pink ones because although they are uber cute, I think it would be a wee bit weird to be carrying around a girly diaper bag with Ayden. I might not totally rule out dark pink though....eheh. Anyway, the Juicy diaper bags aren't just aesthetically pleasing, they get really good reviews too, for being roomy enough to lug around your baby's things bla bla blahh who cares. So I AM totally being sensible here - cute and nifty! HAH!

To sum things up, I'm getting one if it's the last thing I do!!!! MUAHAHAHAAAAAHAHA!!

Sloppy, (you knew this was coming) juicy kisses,
'Aainaa

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

A letter to my baby boy.


My dearest Ayden,

The day I found out I was carrying you, so much emotion overcame me. I felt like God had answered my deepest prayer - you see, I was a lost soul, longing to fulfill this part in me, which felt empty somehow. I knew there had to be more to life...and I often found myself searching for something I couldn't grasp. I prayed to God to help me seek some calm, for some sense of fulfillment, for something bigger than life. And when the doctor told me I was pregnant one night, I laughed and I cried because I knew that God had heard me all this while and that you were His greatest gift to me. I knew that I had found exactly what I had been longing and wishing for all this time.

As I'm writing this, you're happily kicking and moving in my belly, making me smile, wondering what you're up to in there! You keep me up at night with your antics, but with every sleepless night, every back pain, all my sacrifices and discomfort are leading me to one thing - you. I have never been so in love with someone I've never met before...I dream about what you look like, finally holding you, seeing you looking right back at me, smiling at me and knowing that you're actually mine. By now, you probably know the sound of my voice, and I hope it soothes you and that you already feel loved, because you are. Your daddy is excited about you coming into our lives too, we talk about you all the time and imagine you here with us, a small trio family :) He can't hardly wait to buy you your first Transformers toy from Toys R Us, and watch cartoons with you on a Saturday morning! His face lights up when we talk about you, and I always put his hands on my tummy so he can feel you moving inside me. The first time he felt you move, he was so excited and told me he thought about it at work all day :) I know sometimes he worries if he'll make a good father to you, but I don't have a single doubt in my mind that he'll make an amazing dad, and a father any son would be proud to have - this I am so sure of.

I can't wait to see you grow up...so many 'firsts' I'm looking forward to :) Your first step, our first holiday as a family, your first word, when you first start calling me 'mummy'. I'm not perfect but I hope I'll guide you to be the best person you can be, and I look forward to watching you grow into a young man. Know that I will always be proud of you and I love you with all of my heart, and more. Thank you for bringing me a joy I have never known, which will continue to grow as the years go by. I have yet to lay my eyes on you, but I already think you're amazing :) And know that I will always be here, no matter what.

I'll be seeing you soon, my baby.

All my love,
Your Mummy

Monday, January 24, 2011

We are hitting 29 weeks soon, wheeee!

Seems super surreal that by the end of this week, I will hit the 29th week of my pregnancy. WHOA. That means that by the end of next week, I'll be hitting my 30th week! Aaaaaaack! You know when you hit the 30th week that the countdown definitely begins. Oh man. Excited, but hella nervous. I will have to remind myself that giving birth is a beautiful experience. Beeyootiful. Even when they're shoving a tube up your pee hole so you don't pee all over yourself. Luverrly.

Anyway, speaking of giving birth, I have yet to discuss pain relief options with the dreamy doc yet, but I'm sure this topic will come up sometime in the next couple of weeks. And it's no secret that I am definitely leaning more towards having Epidural. Yah yah, call me a scaredy cat. But if epidural is what it takes for me to get my baby out with as less pain as possible, then epidural it is, I say! Some say that even with epi, you'll still feel the pain anyway, so I doubt I'll be laughing or singing showtunes while pushing heh eheh heh (nervous laughter). Whoa, just thinking about it is kinda giving me goosebumps. Mantra for the next few weeks: If a billion women can do it, so can you Aainaa!! YOU CAN DOOO IT!!

Alright, on to something I'm not too excited about, being in my 7th month. The dreaded B word: Bloating. Slowly but surely, I see my feet puffing up. I can literally feel the suckers inflating, when they're down on the ground - they start to feel kinda tingly-ish, so I try to keep 'em up on a higher level when I'm lounging about watching tv. Apparently that's supposed to help. Plus I should be drinking loads of water, and swimming frequently. So this morning I trudged my pregnant self down to Maine's Seri Maya condo to splash about in the pool, yay me. I did about 8 laps (so that's 16 times back and forth), but was starting to feel a little back pain after a bit, so I stopped. Ahh yes, the other dreaded B word: Back pain. I rarely get a good night's sleep nowadays because at some point I'll wake up and start to feel cramp-y, coupled with a healthy dose of back ache. Then I'd be shifting from lying on my left side to my right side, and then back again. Repeat process over and over. And over. This has definitely become my nightly ritual. Other than that, I am now weighing in at 65kgs! And just to torture myself the other day, I attempted to stuff my body in clothes I THOUGHT I could still fit into while pregnant (nevermind the clothes I knew that I could definitely not fit into anymore!). Honestly, it is the most depressing thing ever. Seriously felt like someone had played a sick prank on me and switched all my clothes to some stick thin supermodel's clothes. I couldn't even get into my favourite pair of shorts that I used to wear all the time - I mean, obviously I wasn't banking in on the fact that I could button the shorts up due to my belly, but I could barely even fit my thighs in! *snifffff* And they say that you gain the most weight in your third trimester, so all I can say is lorrrd help me be strong and stay away from the banana caramel frapp from Coffee Bean.

Oh crap, feet getting all tingly already. Gonna go elevate.

sloppy bloated kisses!

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

My basic life principles.

...to always put yourself in the other person's shoes. To ask myself "What if that happened to me? Would I be upset?" before acting on something.

...to do unto others as you would want done unto you, and to not do unto others what you DON'T want done unto you.

...never talk bad about a person, unless that person has done something to deserve it (then u at least have a valid reason!)

...never criticise a person's physical characteristics, again UNLESS you were criticised first, but even so, refrain if you can.

..To give a person the benefit of the doubt. If I have, and that person still acts like a moron, then it's safe to say that that person IS a bad person.

...to practice social etiquette - apologise for not being able to turn up at an event, when you are unable to. Something A LOT of people forget to do nowadays.

...to avoid hurting the feelings of others. Basically, to have a conscience. If, you are in an uncompromising situation, at least apologise and explain why you weren't given a choice.

...to always love any animal, to show compassion, not to discriminate strays from expensive breeds. A stray cat needs just as much love, and is just as beautiful as a mixed persian in a store window.

...to stay away from racism.

...to be humble, down to earth... never be a show off. Strive for more, but be thankful of what you already have.

...always say your 'thank yous' and 'please'.

...to not take those who have helped you forgranted. To always cherish the GOOD friends and company in your life.

...to be strong no matter how hard life seems. Don't dwell on things or people that will bring you down.

...always remember that however big the problem, someone else has it much, much worse.

...not to use the excuse of coming from a 'broken family' as a basis of screwing up your own life. To always take charge of your life, and know that you are the one responsible of how things turn out, and not because your parents are divorced, or that your father abandoned you.

These things I practice, I hope I'll pass unto my children, insyaallah. I'm far from perfect, but I know that I've got a good head on my shoulders thanks to the values that were taught to me by my mother, growing up. And for that, I am eternally grateful.

Thursday, January 13, 2011

Zoinks.

Random title, as usual. Hello peeeeeeople. FINALLY I get to use an actual computer to update this blog a little. Funny thing is, I can't remember what I was supposed to write about. Pregnant brain much? Oh, before anyone else is confused as per my last post regarding the baby's gender, it's now confirmed that we are, indeed, having a baby boy. And we have decided that the baby will first come wailing into the world in a labour room at Gleneagles Intan Medical Centre. Wheew. Glad that issue has finally come to rest. I was definitely getting sick of doctor hopping. Plus, Dato' Dr. Aziz is quite the Malay equivalent of George Clooney, if I do say so myself heh heh heh. I was expecting an old, fatherly figure as I walked through the door of his consultation room for the first time, but was....pleasantly surprised. Sayang I still love you, after all, you are the baby daddy :p Anyway, now I know why he's so famous. Plus, apparently he IS a good doctor. To expecting mothers, do check him out at Gleneagles or Prince Court if you're curious. Eheh hehe ehehh. Downside is, the next time I may need to bare 'all' to him, I might feel a bit shy-shy (insert blushing smiley emoticon here). Maybe if he coaxes me gently......hehehehe ok ok, stop it, hormones talking here, and anyway I find Yasir the hottest thing to walk planet earth *cough*.

Baby is big for his week, the last time when we went for a scan, I was 25 weeks pregnant and baby was 28 weeks big. So dreamy doc thinks that I MAY deliver end of March instead of mid April, which was quite a shocker to hear. Still, this was just an estimation...we'll see how big the baby gets. Number of scary labour dreams I've had thus far : 3. Including one where I fondly recall a full grown man acting all exorcist-like in the next room while in labour. Yes, you read right - MAN.

I have now just hit my 27th week, so third trimester is right around the corner. Alhamdulillah no obvious signs of bloating, of course I have vaginas as armpits and my thighs and arms now wobble like jelly (mmm...jelly...) but my engagement and wedding band still fit on my finger albeit a bit snug. Of course we know that the bloating phase is scarily looming up ahead, so I am nervously waiting for the day I will wake up looking like blown-up Veronica from Charlie and The Chocolate Factory, although I pray that day will never come! Amin.

Okay, I'm feeling very lethargic today, so I'm due for a snooze. ZzzzzZzZzZZZZzzzzzz

By popular demand...

I have created a wishlist for Ayden! Click away :)

xxx

Sunday, January 2, 2011

Dusting off the cobwebs

Ok I officially suck at updating this blog now because I still have to type from my bb, and I've been pretty busy for the past week or so, took two insurance-related exams (passed, thank god!) and have been preoccupied. Something interesting happened during my last check-up though - Yasir and I went to a clinic because it was past 5pm and I wanted a scan asap as I was having quite severe cramps the night before (alhamdulillah doc says everything's fine, uterus was just expanding. Oh, and baby weighs more than 800 grams now!) and while the doctor scanned my tummy, he asked us if we knew the sex of the baby. So naturally we said yes, we're having a boy, and the doc goes, "Hmmmmmmm? Really?"

Yasir's face was priceless. Haha. I mean, it's no secret that he REALLY wants a boy. And because of that, I have to admit, I was hoping for a boy from the very beginning, because Yasir wants a boy. But anyways, while the doctor kept on scanning and focusing on the baby's genitals, Yasir kept on desperately trying to point out a penis on the monitor :p I have to admit though, the penis didn't look as big as when we first saw it hahah. And true story, my stepsister thought she was having a boy right up till her delivery because they would see a penis everytime she went for a scan, and lo and behold, out popped a vajayjay instead! But my gut instincts still tell me that we're having an Ayden, and not an Alana. Of course either way, I would be happy with a boy or girl, as long as he or she is perfectly healthy. Insyaallah,aminn!

I'm counting on the next check up to finally, once and for all determine what our baby's gender is, so waiting with baited breath! Oh happy new year everyone - 2010 was certainly a crazy, jam-packed year, but 2011 is going to be a life changing year for me, insyaallah. Hope everyone starts off 2011 with a bang!

Sloppy kisses!

P\s: Found a leopard print jumpsuit for the baby online. If there was only one piece of clothing I could stuff my baby into, that would definitely be it. Ha ha.

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

quickie and 'pregnant' sex.

I have been super crap at updating this blog lately, because, yes internet is busted yet again, and typing from my bb (which is what I'm doing now!) is tedious! So I'm making this a quickie. I find it funny that my belly button is becoming increasingly small - I'm an innie, so if I actually go on to becoming an outie as this pregnancy develops, I might be weirded out, but still find it funny. Yeah, I'm amused by the smallest things, me. Heh. Anyway, we are going into our 24th week this coming weekend! 6 months pregnant! Alhamdulillah and wow, that was quick! Can't believe it will be another 3 months or more to go till I'll be able to hold my baby koala in my arms :)

I'm still putting weight on like crazy, it seems like I've been gaining at least 1kg A WEEK. Not good- though luckily, it doesn't look like I've gained heaps of weight - but I officially have vaginas for armpits. Have been trying to 'work out' with xbox Kinect when I can (I'm awesome at table tennis heh heh), but I should really start doing more exercise..sigh. Baby is kicking happily in my tum tum, there are times when he kicks surprisingly hard that I squeal out in shock. Lately, he's been waking me up in the wee hours of the morning, doing his workouts.

I don't know how many pregnant women\moms read this blog, but I've got quite a personal question to ask, and it would be great if I get some feedback - Did\has sex changed when you got pregnant? Did you ever feel unattractive or feel that your partner didn't find you as attractive as you were? Or maybe your spouse finds\found it weird to be doing 'it' with a pregnant woman? Or was everything just fine and dandy in the sack?

Thoughts? ;)

Monday, December 13, 2010

Count your blessings.

No matter how shitty you feel.

No matter how big the problem.

Even if you feel it's the end of the world.

Even if you're the biggest 'loser' to walk the earth.

When it's hard to breathe.

After you cry your heart out.

Take a deep breath and look at the little good things you have in your life, and know that you don't have it that bad.

Friday, December 10, 2010

Bump @ 19 weeks


This is a bit overdue because I'm now 22 weeks and my tummy is sliiightly bigger than in the pic. Yes I've been getting a lot of comments about how I look small for 5 months. But as long as the baby is growing well (we had a scan a few days ago) then I'm trying not to worry! He's been kicking quite a bit, which has to be the best feeling ever :D A few evenings ago, he was more active than usual, and I could feel him moving and stretching, and my stomach literally moved. Some people might describe it similar to one of those Alien movies haha. Now I know why mothers always say they miss the feeling of their baby moving and kicking...it's so strange yet so beautiful at the same time.
Not feeling so good today, I've been sneezing my ass off and my nose is like a leaking faucet. Yesterday I walked around Sungei Wang with my sister-in-law, and soon after, I felt that dreaded lightheaded feeling come over me, and I had to sit in the dressing room till I recovered. Funnily enough, I always seem to feel lightheaded in Sungei Wang - could it possibly be the environment? Damn. Where else can I get cheap clothes then? :( I'm going to spend my low-key weekend lying down and taking it easy for now. Hope everyone has a good weekend!
xxx

Monday, December 6, 2010

Things yo momma never told you.

Ahh, pregnancy. That healthy glow. Growing a life inside you. Push push, out comes baby. And we all live happily ever after.

Not quite.

No one tells you about...

The constipation. Good lord, the constipation. When you're pregnant, everything in your body slows down, including your... errr, colonic activities. You can spend more than half an hour sweating your non-existant balls off just trying to unload. You may feel like you are about to give birth. It can get pretty effing painful, no joke. I always feel like I'm about to faint and start seeing stars after a strenuous sesh. Sometimes I cry. Piles is also all too common amongst pregnant women. Luverrly. Better start drinking water like your life depends on it unless you like the feeling of trying to squeeze a watermelon out of your ass. Look at the bright side, I suppose it does give you some form of 'push' practice, though.

Your pimply face. Now, not all pregstars are lucky enough to travel back in time and relive their high school days when their face resembled a pizza. Mmm, pizza.... Anyway, before we go off topic, those pus filled suckers will rear their ugly heads because of the spike of hormones in your system. At this point, you may look like a knocked up teenager. Throw in some braces to complete the look if you're feeling festive. And stay the hell away from the flawless, 'I'm so effortlessly beautiful and glowy', acne-free preggos for fear of snarling at them or tearing out their hair. Bitches.

Oily hair. Gone are the days you could make your hairdo last a month (or more if you're really that cheap), without shampooing. Pay 40 bucks at a salon for a blowdry, and see it last for a day, max. Goodbye expensive blowdry, hello helmet hair.

Toot, toot. Burp. Yes, we're carrying a life inside of us. But we are also carrying a lot of gas. If you're stuck in a lift with a bunch of people, you can bet that smell came from the preggo. But don't start staring, that would just be plain rude.

Funbags sans the fun. If our boobs are feeling sore, husbands should keep hands to themselves. One wrong move and we'll smackdown, flying kick your asses. HAI-YAKKK!!!

Is that my stomach or is that Chewbacca? Yep, unfortunately growing belly hair all over is the norm. Sometimes after you get out of the shower, your stomach may just resemble a hairy monkey. Sexy stuff.

I had a teeny, tiny sip of water - I gotta go bad. Excuse the preggo if she's stepping on your toes while trying to scramble out of the cinema in the middle of a suspenseful scene, she's gotta whizz. So what if it's for the fifth time. Get in her way and she may use your cup in ways you'd rather not imagine. Bottomline, if a preggo has gotta go, she's gotta go.

Acid reflux. Enough said.


Sloppy kisses,
'Aainaa

P\s: To fellow preggos, this post was written in good humour. Please don't get all crazy hormonal and sit on me.

Sunday, December 5, 2010

.

There's a difference between pushing your child to do better and just plain pushing your child away.

Friday, December 3, 2010

The paranoia of being pregnant.

I received a message on fb from one of my friends (shout out to Hajar!) who says that she reads my blog and marvels at how well I'm handling my pregnancy, while she on the other hand feels quite anxious about everything. Honestly, I think every pregnant woman would agree with me when I say we are paranoid about EVERY LITTLE THING. I, for one, am one of the most paranoid person I know.

The first time I found out I was pregnant, I was only about a month along and instantly my mind started flashing back to those times I had a spa session (I got into a hot tub AND had a brutal back massage forgodsakes!), jumped about with my girlfriends at Mar's house (literally jumping about while posing in the air, for the camera haha) and god knows what other stuff I was up to before I found out I was knocked up. Anyway, I didn't allow myself to be overjoyed that my pregnancy tests showed 'positive', because I was so sure I had done everything in my power to harm that little zygot :( Plus, this is strange, but a lot of people around me were bracing me for..the worst. They would go, "Don't get too excited, early stages VERY fragile!" Which added to my negative thinking. I mean, these people care about me and I'm sure they mean well, but all that talk about not keeping my hopes up high really took me to the highest level of paranoia, I kid you not. And especially when they start telling you stories about people they know who suffered from miscarriages..that made everything even worse.

Anyway, it wasn't all rainbows and carebears the first time I went for a scan. The doctor couldn't find the sac. Basically, she couldn't see anything. And she reassured me it was a bit too early to see anything, and that the scanning equipment she uses is not high tech, that if I went to the hospital I would be able to see something etc etc. And what did I start doing? I broke down, right there in her office. It was because I had pent up negative energy inside me that was bursting to come out, topped with an unhealthy dose of paranoia, and finally coupled with the blank scan...I told her how I was extremely worried that I started sputtering about how I felt like I had harmed the baby in its fragile state. The doctor told me that I had to start focusing on staying positive, because stressing out in itself was harmful to the baby, and that it was perfectly normal not to see anything if the pregnancy is at its 'baby' stages. In the end, she told me to come back in two weeks.

When Yasir and I got home, I decided to turn my thinking around. I knew the doctor was right, worrying and stressing too much would do absolutely nothing for the baby. I guess I adapted this new attitude, to talk and think positively about the baby..and know that whatever happens is in god's hands. I started visualising that I was having a normal, healthy pregnancy and that the baby was safe in my uterus. I talked more about the baby to friends who made me feel that I was having a normal pregnancy, and that everything was going to turn out fine. I even started talking to my bebe, telling him or her to stay strong "in there" and saying that I know insyaallah everything will be fine, if it's meant to be. Two weeks later, at the second check-up, Yasir and I saw that tiny little dot up on the monitor. Who knew that such a small dot could make my heart soar :)

The thing about pregnancy is, a mom-to-be's worries are endless. You could be in the early stages of your pregnancy and feel anxious about the baby making it through to that crucial 3 month milestone, or you could be like me, at 5 months and worried about the baby's brain and physical developments, as well as trivial things like my tummy not being big enough, am I hurting him when I lie on my side and he starts kicking when I do so etc etc. I would be lying if I said I wasn't worried. Despite my posts on my blog about already naming my baby, buying him clothes, wanting him to grow up into a gentleman, there is ALWAYS that constant paranoia that things could go wrong, nauzzubillah. But I learned that we can't control our fate, we can do our absolute best to help it turn out how we would want to. And I'm being the best mother I can be to Ayden right now, staying positive about his developments, and visualising him growing into a healthy baby boy, and counting down the days I'll be holding him in my arms, insyaallah. Aminn. Plus, before the era where pregnant moms loaded up on vitamins, DHA, folic acid etc etc, our grandmothers and their mothers did everything the natural way, my grandma didn't even get to see her babies before they were born, and alhamdulillah her babies (my mom and aunt) came out perfectly healthy. Sometimes, you've just gotta learn to stop worrying too much, let nature take its course during your pregnancy... and let go. I suppose that's the first thing we learn on being a mother while our baby's still in the womb. Never too early for a lesson on parenting, eh?

Anyway, Hajar, if you're reading this, sorry it's taken me so long to get back to you on the supplements I'm taking! Ah, might as well tell you here hahah. I'm taking calcium pills and obimin, which is a multi-vitamin. But I'll be updating to Obimin Plus, because that one has DHA to help aid in the baby's brain development. And occasionally,Yasir makes me one of those powdered milk drinks for pregnant and breastfeeding women. That's about it, for now! My next xheck up is next weekend - we'll be 22 weeks, insyaallah. Hopefully we'll get to see the babyy's face :)

To expecting mothers, try not to worry too much, although easier said than done. I find that voicing your anxiety and fears to a fellow pregnant person always helps too. Aaina Kameilia, if you're reading this, you know what I'm talking about don't you? Haha. Alright, time for breakfast..have a beautiful weekend everyone!

Sloppy kisses!

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Food poisoning?

Yasir spent RM200 on what we thought would be a nice dinner at Tamarind Springs last night. Today we woke up with a weird feeling in our stomachs and I am feeling really under the weather. That's 200 bucks down the drain. Sigh. I think the baby didn't like the food too, because while I was eating, he kept on moving and moving and moving..that I couldn't concentrate on my meal. Maybe he was trying to tell me to stop eating. Today isn't a good day, very lightheaded and I feel like there are pieces of heavy, wet sludges of cotton in my brain. Yasir insists we're victims of food poisoning, but I'm trying to stay positive and brush it off. I'm sure I'll feel better after a good, solid day of rest. Oh, just for the record, I think Sharone from Masterchef USA is hot. Mmm.

Sloppy kisses.

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

My fave shots part 1

If you're on my facebook then you've already seen these pics, bear with me. But I love them so much, and can't wait to show them to my kids and I have two super talented photogs to thank - Ili and Kude. I knew they wouldn't let me down, so glad I went with my instincts! They knew the exact look and feel I was going for, and executed it brilliantly. It was worth lugging around the props and getting all sweaty for (if you notice, my hair gets ickier as the pics progress), definitely! Also, Yasir was being such a good sport about it - you know you'd usually have to club a guy over the head and render him unconscious before he agrees to participate in any kind of photographic activity? It means even more that he was willing to get all gussied up because he knew how much I wanted pics of us! Anyway, here are some of my favourite pics from our post wedding shoot (two days after our nikah! I think I was already knocked up then btw har har):

























The pics are rather small though. Maybe you can click on 'em to make them bigger? Dunno. Haha. Part 2 coming up soon :)


sloppy kisses xxx

To do list (by mama) - unedited

This morning, mama came in my room, started nagging and questioning about what I do everyday (which, I can't entirely blame her, yes, I am a loser). Then she started scribbling away furiously on a piece of paper. This is what she wrote:

THINGS I CAN DO/WILL DO DURING MY PREGNANCY
1) Cook, iron, decorate oso my house. Try cooking/baking new recipes
2) Call up friends - make appointment and close cases.
TARGET: - minimum 1 friend a day
- minimum 1 case a week
3) Mengaji - target: Qatam Quran before baby born & read Islami books & listen to mengaji
4) Write & publish a mini book eg "Diary of a pregnant mother"
5) Sign up for part time MBA
6) Find some ways to earn money at home (besides insurance) eg any other direct selling, internet selling, jumble sales etc
7) ETC ETC
THINGS I MUST DO EVERYDAY
1) DOA every time after solat
2) Dzikir banyak banyak
3) Mengaji or listen to recital of Quranic verses every day/nite
4) Eat kismis, kurma, honey & vit every morning
5) 1 fruit at least a day
,...you know you need to get a life when your mother starts writing your To Do lists for you. LE SIGH.

Insurance anyone? :D

So I don't have a full-time job at the moment besides the occassional freelance articles here and there for female magazine and The Malaysian Women's Weekly. My mom thinks I'm a complete slug, and I have to admit I am sick on relying on Yasir for money..plus, with a baby on the way, having some income would help us out loads. Sigh. Anyway, I am now doing part-time insurance for Prudential, and am on the lookout for people who are interested in taking up insurance for themselves, or savings for their children. I'm not saying this because I'm being all agent'y', but savings is ABSOLUTELY crucial for you and your family's future... without sounding too brash, you are being quite an idiot if you don't have insurance. Sorry! But insurance is not a luxury anymore people, it's definitely a necessity. Why, you ask? Why would you not save for your future or for your children's future?! Would you rather panic later on in life when you realise the money you've put away for years is definitely not enough to pay your medical bills, last you through retirement or put your children through to a good college? Or would you rather be financially smart for your future and have everything taken care of? Seems like a no brainer, doesn't it? haha. Contact me, and I'll gladly explain more...no pressure, just have a listen :) If you don't have insurance already, please feel free to comment here, or e-mail me at superbaybee@hotmail.com, with the title being 'INSURANCE', so I won't mistake your email for junkmail...and we'll take it from there! We can meet up for coffee and have a chit-chat. I don't bite, I love meeting new people, and I'm friendlier than you think! ;) haha. What say you?

Here's to being savings savvy,
'Aainaa

Nightmare.

I had a dream I was about to give birth and was in labour. SCARY. Needless to say, I did NOT sleep well last night. AAAAAAAAAAAACK.

Monday, November 29, 2010

A life lesson.

You came to me, crying your little heart out, and I rushed to see where the noise was coming from. There you were, sprawled out on my pavement, less than a month old, such a tiny little thing, but a cry that was loud enough for me to hear over the blast of my tv. Without any hesitation, I picked you up and cooed to you, wondering how was it that a tiny little baby kitten was left on my doorstep, without a mother cat in sight? You were so small that I knew you couldn't have ended up there by yourself, so to make sure your mother wasn't coming back for you, I put you down again where I found you and waited for a while inside the house to see if she would come for you. The sound of you crying for your mother made my heart break, and finally, after I was sure she wasn't coming back, I took you in my arms and jumped straight into the car and drove to the vet, because I knew you were too small to eat normal catfood, and I had to give you milk you drink.


Over the next few weeks, I had to get used to taking care of a baby kitten, in between flower arrangements and dress fittings, just to name a few, as I was busy planning my wedding. You were extremely clingy, and I felt like it was very much like taking care of a newborn baby! I had to feed you milk from the sryinge every so often when you cried out for me, and you would only sleep peacefully when you were in the crook of my arm. I woke up at the wee hours of the morning to you crying, calming you down while I mixed the milk powder with water and tested to see that it wasn't too hot for you to suckle on. Sometimes I would get frustrated because I was tired, but I had grown so fond of you, that I didn't think twice about coming to you when you called out for me. Finally, over the weeks, you grew slightly bigger and I could feed you soft food, which had to be hand fed because you would step in your food bowl causing your fur to go all sticky and caked with cat food! There were times your face was so messy from burying your head into the soft food that I had to wash your face with a warm, wet cloth, but you seemed to like it because you would purr as I rubbed you clean, and even fall asleep. There were countless times when both of us would fall asleep on the couch, with you cuddled in my arms. And then there were also times when I was slightly annoyed with you because I couldn't go out because I had to stay home and look after you - yes, you were that clingy and sought for attention every second you were awake! Mama even suggested I take you with me on one Saturday as I had planned to run some wedding errands! After arguing with mama that taking a baby kitten with me would be ridiculous, I spent the whole day while I was out wondering if you were okay, what were you doing, were you crying? I rushed home to you as soon as I could.


After I got married, you started growing into a playful little kitten! You were so naughty, just like a little child, chasing and biting everyone's feet! And you weren't as clingy anymore, but you still had so much love to give, always cuddling with me and kakak. I moved out of the house to live with my husband, but would come by every weekday, my highlight of the morning seeing you run to me at the gate as if you were greeting me, then chasing my feet :) I missed you on weekends when I didn't come by, and always looked for you as soon as I came back to the house. I'd call out for you if I didn't see you, and you would come bolting out of nowhere and come running to me, jump on my lap and nuzzle my arm.


Two weeks ago, the day before you left, we spent the longest time cuddling together on the couch. I was surprised that you wanted to sit with me, because you were going through a phase where you would be too busy running around and chasing the other cats to pay me any attention. But that day, you came to me when I called you, and you fell asleep on my then already pregnant stomach, and purred so loudly. Even as you woke, you stayed on my lap and watched tv with me. We stayed like that for a long time, until I finally drifted off to sleep. And I didn't know then, but an hour later, you said goodbye to me as I woke up groggily from feeling something wet touch my nose. You sniffed my face softly, and I smiled a sleepy smile and thought how cute, stroked you gently and went back to sleep. That was the last I saw of you..


The day I realised you were missing, I was so worried and cried constantly, thinking about where you had gone to, were you alright, were you hurt...a million things ran through my mind. I called and called for you throughout the day, went outside the gate and screamed for you, praying you had just gone for a short walk and would come running home as soon as you heard my voice. I was so upset, I could feel the stress taking its toll on my body and knew that I had to relax for the sake of the baby in my belly. When Yasir came home, all I could do was bury my head in his shoulder and cry my eyes out, because it felt like my heart was going to burst. I imagined the worst things in my head - and tortured myself with the image of you scared, alone and hurt..I had to force those thoughts out of my mind, to calm myself down. Now I imagine and pray that you're in a happier place...


Miu Miu, not a day goes by when I don't think of you. I don't know why you went away, but I'd like to think that God gave you to me for that short period of time to see if I have what it takes to become a mother. If I would look after you and care for you when you were such a tiny little thing, crying away in my arms. Constantly showering you with attention and affection and rushing to you, even at 5am when you called out for me, cooing to you to calm you down. I'd like to think you were put there on my doorstep for a reason, Miu, and when the time came, you left me as you had served your purpose. I hope I did well looking after you when you were abandoned by your mother and alone, and I hope that there was never a moment when you didn't feel loved.


Some people say you learn a lot when you look after and care for a pet. Miu, thank you for the life lesson you taught me, my little one, and know that you will always, always be here in my heart.



Sunday, November 28, 2010

My little man.

I can't help but worry that I might turn Ayden into a mama's boy. I'm super protective when it comes to the people I love, apparently it's in my Leo nature. I remember reading it in an astrology book -Leo mothers are fiercely protective of their young ones. Yasir thinks I have the tendency to spoil Ayden too...he sees the way I treat my cats. I know how I treat my cats. And yes, I do spoil them, and I get a tad bit iffy when I see others handling them roughly.

I guess as a parent, you have to find that perfect balance between being a loving mother, but at the same time, not too doting that your child becomes sheltered and god forbid, whiny. And of course, I wouldn't want my son to be known as a 'mummy's boy' when he's all grown up, those ones are the worst kinds! Adoi. I'll have to love him enough that he wants to take care of me, respects me and comes to me when he needs to talk, but not be too clingy. That's just one of my concerns on parenting anyway. Zillion more to come, I'm sure. One thing's for sure - I'm on a mission to groom him into becoming a gentleman. Ha ha. I'll call him 'my little man' from when he's small, and make sure he practices good manners, commend him when he does anything chivalrous in nature. Ladies first, open the door to let a lady walk in, offer to help a lady carry her things...small things first, then on to the more serious stuff like never laying a finger on a woman, always having respect for the gentler sex, and being patient when a female is PMS-ing.

Oh, this is random, but yesterday morning, I woke up and the name Natalya came to mind. Next baby perhaps? Yasir keeps on ignoring me when I talk about having a second child. Oh well.

Back!

Helloooo blog, I've missed you! Laptop is fixed, although internet is acting a tad bit dodgy. I don't really have any exciting news to report, but I am over the moon that my bebe and I have officially reached 20 weeks! And as slowly but surely, those dull little 'thud thud' kicks I talked about are getting stronger and more noticeable - I sometimes wake up in the middle of the night because of a strong kick! Then I usually find it hard to fall asleep after, but I take that all this waking up at 3am and sleepless nights will help me prepare for the real deal, so it's all good.

I am now also weighing in at 57.4kgs as of this morning. Whoa. I'm not sure if the whole '2kgs a month' thing is really going to work out for me, because my weight has been increasing really really fast. But I'm not too worried now, as I'm pretty sure that all this weight is not due to me pigging out (though that does happen from time to time), but because of my pregnancy. But yeah, arms are getting flabbier, face slightly chubs and the other day my sister played with my lovehandles, while going "why like this?" mesmerised by them. Thanks a lot kakak!

On a bouncier note, baby bump is showing! I do get some stares from people who look like they're thinking "Is she pregnant? Hmm, maybe she's not? Eh, maybe she is. Eh, no lah. SHE IS!" especially from women. Kinda fun. And you'll get people commenting on how small or big your tummy is too. The other day I went bra shopping (which was frustrating - more on that in a later post), and the salesgirl asked me how many months along I was and I told her I was 5 months, and she exclaimed with bulging eyes "Wahh, 5 months can already see ah like this!?" like I was ready to go into labour and give birth there and then in that store. Oh, and the other day I had my first 'I'm a fragile pregnant woman' situation, which was pretty cool. You know how shop assistants at Sungei Wang are usually far from being friendly to you? How they follow you around their shop as if you're going to stuff every RM25 ringgit top into your handbag at any moment, give you the evil eye, breathe down your neck and go "tsk!" and in a huff fuss over that top you took from the rack but decided it looks tacky on you, so you put it back? Well, last week, I was looking at a Balenciaga motorcycle bag imitation, and decided, nahh (but after sleepless nights that handbag has been haunting me, think I might just have to go and get it now :p) and as I was attempting to place it back on the shelf which was only a few inches higher than me, the shop assistant came rushing to me and went, "It's okay! come, come I help you!!" in the most urgent and pleasant tone possible. And instantly I felt like I needed to assume my role as the helpless preggo chick, so I stuck out my belly a few inches more and gave her a soft whisper "Thank you," while placing my hand on my waist, like I was having a backache. Automatic response, I can't help it, I swear. Guys on the other hand, tend to stare at my...boobs. My girls are definitely a far cry from Heidi Montag's, but they're definitely there. They have a mind of their own - which annoys and delights Yasir at the same time. It's like they're a blessing and a curse. Apparently only he can stare at them and his job is to protect and shield them from the prying eyes of every gatal man. You know what they say, with great boobs come great responsibility.

Oh one more thing - I'm now a baby/child stalker. If your baby is cute, I'm probably stalking you already. Watch out. Har har. There's this little boy who looks around two-years-old at my condo, who goes for a walk with his nanny around 9.15am, first time I saw him tottering about, holding his nanny's hand while walking down the path, I just stared at him and smiled widely like a psycho. He's sooooo cute! And the weird thing is, he looks like Yasir when he was a kid (believe it or not, Yasir was an uber pretty boy, with his fair complexion, red lips and dimple - I know, what happened right?? haha) so my heart just stopped looking at the little boy, coz he has the same fatures as Yasir! Then the next day, as Yasir was sending me back to the condo, we saw the boy again, this time looking a bit chomot in his pyjamas, but still tottering about with his nanny. And I've been hoping to bump into that boy eversince, but not yet. Yasir thinks I'm obsessed. I have worked out that this boy lives in the same block as me, because he always seems to be coming from that direction. Now all I gotta do is wait in front of the lift everyday at 9am sharp till he goes for his morning walk. Operation child stalking to take place. Soon. Very soon. MUAHAHAHAHA. MUAHAHAHAHAHA!!

sloppy child stalker kisses,
'Aainaa

Monday, November 22, 2010

A short update.

Laptop is still being nursed back to health (using kakak's office laptop), so I'm going to have to be MIA for a bit :( In a nutshell, what has been going on...nothing. Haha. Mama came back from Argentina, and bought 4 baby clothes and a diaper bag and a baby carrier, that you sling around your body. For me? One see through maternity dress. But I'm happy that now we've got more baby clothes coming in! One of the outfits is a nautical themed blue and white stripey top with pants, complete with a striped hat and little striped gloves..very cute :) Thanks mama/nenek! WHOA. Nenek. Mama's going to be a nenek!

Ooh, another thing worth mentioning and a tad bit alarming is that I've put on close to 5kgs!! I know I'm pregnant and putting on weight is the norm, but it's kinda scary when you put on weight really really fast. Apparently you're only supposed to put on 2kgs a month when you're pregnant, but at the rate I'm going.....aaack. I haven't really been eating like a crazy person too, but I make sure I never skip any meals. And occasionally I do indulge in some sweet stuff (like doughnuts, or chocs etc) but not anything out of the norm. Hmmm. I have also been going swimming, thanks to my darling friend Maine, I've been tumpang'ing' her pool at Seri Maya, and am trying to make a habit of swimming at least twice a week! Let's see how long that will last. Haha.

Alright, that's going to be all for now because I'm a little pressed for time. Damn laptop, will you be fixed already??!!!!

sloppy kisses.

Monday, November 15, 2010

Kick kick!

Yesterday I was watching E.T on HBO and felt the unmistakable feeling of the baby kicking! I've felt some fluttery movement before, but was always unsure if it was baby or because I had something funky for dinner and my tummy was rebelling, but I'm pretty sure the kicks I felt yesterday were from the baby. It was a dull *thud thud* feeling in the lower part of my stomach, and went on for 5 times in a row! It was a pretty awesome feeling :) I was hoping he would go on and on, and didn't want it to end..because when your nausea is gone, and your tummy isn't at that stage where you look obviously pregnant, you tend to get a little bit paranoid. So when I felt my baby kicking, this warm fuzzy feeling rushed over me, and I'm reminded that my son is growing inside me. My son. Wow, it makes me a little teary eyed just thinking about it..Insyaallah.

Anyway, maybe he was kicking because he loved the movie or he thought E.T was cute? Ha ha. Because just before the movie started, I rubbed my belly and told him we were going to watch a pretty cool movie on HBO. I talk to my belly sometimes so my baby will recognise my voice when he comes out..docs recommend it. It's kinda hard because I don't usually talk a lot day to day when I'm mostly alone and Yasir's at work, unless I'm talking to my grandparents or my cats, so I try to make singing a habit too, so Ayden can hear me. Wonder what he thinks of my singing....

Yasir and I bought the baby's first outfit on Sunday! It was random, we now have the habit of occasionally stopping by children\babies clothes shops when we're out, so that day we were in Ampang Point and I caught sight of this t-shirt and shorts set for 0 to 3 month old babies, and this one had a picture of a koala bear sitting down, and had "My name is koala" imprinted on it! I thought it was the most perfect looking thing I had ever seen (because we all know how I say Yasir looks like a koala bear) and we've been referring to him as Baby Koala or Koko. So I thought it would be perfect for our little Ayden :) Plus, it helps that it was on sale and super cheap - score!

It's now safely tucked away in my closet, waiting for a tiny body to fill it...and I know that eventually (insyaallah) when Ayden has it on, it's going to get stained with drool and smell of baby masam after a day, but it'll always be Ayden's first special outfit, and remind me of the days when Yasir and I were completely clueless about baby stuff. I might just keep that outfit till Ayden gets his first serious girlfriend and whip it out to show her and embarrass him..yeah, I'm going to be one of "those moms"! Poor Ayden. Heh heh.

Alright, off to Ikea with the sister-in-law. Meatballs with extra jam, here I come!!

To all idiots out there..

This is my blog. Aainaa's. So obviously I will write about me and whatever the hell is going on in this life of mine. OBVIOUSLY. If you are so STUPID that you can't grasp that concept, then why the hell are you here in the first place? To read about my life jugak right? As my husband has put it simply, if you don't like it, then don't come back time and time again to read it. Ugh, it's ridiculous just thinking about it. Plus, I'm pregnant, so I REALLY don't need bumbling fools reading this blog and leaving stupid, irrational comments. Makes me nauseated. Please take a hike, jump off a building, or take a long walk off a short pier. Thanks.

To my worthy readers\family\friends, sorry for the slow updates, laptop is on its way to getting fixed and it's pretty tough typing from my blackberry, so hopefully as soon as it's fixed, my "menjual diri" in this blog will commence as per usual. If you guys are confused as to what I mean by "menjual diri", please refer to the idiotic comments made by a certain Anonymous on my The Mom Dresscode post. But be warned, it would be a waste of your precious time, as it has been of mine. But should you need some entertainment, by all means :) Anyway, sorry your reading material at work is on hiatus as of now. You know I love you.

Sloppy kisses! Xxx

Sunday, November 14, 2010

Miu Miu

Please come home :((((

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Man vs wife

It's been nearly four months since I've been living with an extra terrestrial, or rather, the male species. Here are the things which I have had to get used to, or what I don't understand:

Why does he:

- have to smoke while taking a dump? This is an intriguing thing that smokers do which I still don't get...hmmmm

- insist on playing his xbox everynight before we go to sleep, for at least 2 hours? I'm convinced it releases some sort of therapeutic, brain-relaxing hormone which without, will lead to a sleepless night - so as an understanding wife, I know he's gotta do what he's gotta do, and I'd usually fall asleep on the couch till the wee hours of the morning until this hormone is released and we can finally crawl into bed.

- watch Ironman 2 on blu-ray over and over again? I have seriously lost count. The last time my 3-year-old cousin Rayyan came over, Yasir used him as an excuse. We'll see what he comes up with next...

- hog the covers shamelessly?!?! This is a particularly unpleasant habit I had to discover after we got married..it's really not fun having to go to bed knowing that you're about to go to battle everynight. It's like I'm at a friggin' Sports Day and I'm participating in 'acara tarik tali' forgodsakes. After the first few sleepless (not to mention freezing) nights of waking up shivering and groping around for the duvet, I now respond to this annoying habit automatically, and am on standby mode. As soon as I feel the duvet sliding, I tug that motherf**king piece of material HARD and hold on for dear life. Usually, he stops. If he doesn't, then I find that shouting "OI!!!!!!!" works too.

- have his hands in his pants or shorts and on his crotch when he's watching tv? I've heard tales about the male species having the tendency to do such a thing and didn't really believe it...till I got married. Some theories say that they feel a need to constantly check if their goods are still there, because it's such a prized possession. Fair enough, I guess, should one day your schlong decide to run away and find itself a better owner.

- wear the same t-shirt to bed for WEEKS and not feel yucky? Eeeeeeeeuwwwww gross!

- fart while pretending he's a rocket missile, or...a ballerina.


Okay, sure, there are things that he doesn't get about me either, like:

- why I take at least half an hour to get out of the house, even if it means popping by to the nearest mamak for a quick breakfast. I just don't know what to wearrrr and some days I look fat in everythinggggg *sniff*

- why my bra is draped across the living room sofa sometimes. Look, if I feel the need to set 'my girls' free while I'm watching The Kardashians on E! and I'm too lazy to walk to the room, that's where my bra's gonna be at, alright? And don't pretend you don't like it when I go bra-less! You like, right??

- why I must watch Giuliana and Bill. You have no idea about the pain they're going through!They've been wanting a baby for ages now, and first did IUI and it wasn't effective, and decided on IVF even if it meant her having to go through all these procedures which were taxing to her body physically and she FINALLY got pregnant and they were so happy, and then after 8 weeks she miscarried...sighhhhh, so sad:(

- why I must change handbags everytime. It's simple: Different handbags go with different outfits. Capiche?

- why it takes me so long to get ready for bed. I'm sorry we all don't just take off our contact lenses and hop straight into bed like you do. The nightly ritual usually involves makeup remover, followed by cleansing, and some sort of cream we slap on our face before we can even think of snoozing. Which brings me to...

- why I have random dots of pimple cream on my face when I slide into bed next to you. I know it isn't sexy, and I look downright scary sometimes, but you want your wife to have pimply face is it? When else can I have some goopy thing on my face anyway? There's a reason they call it 'beauty sleep' you know, so that we can regain our beauty while we sleep, even if it means looking like Frankenstein in the process. Oh and wives everywhere would appreciate our husbands telling us (or a hint would do) beforehand if they're up for a lil' somethin' somethin' before going to bed, because then we'll sacrifice the pimple cream...just for you, because we're nice *smiles sweetly*. Please note, once we have the stuff on our face, there's no turning back. Don't even think about nudging us, please eh. Dowan.

But besides all the hullabaloo, co-existing under one roof ain't that bad after all. Yasir and I lucked out because our 'mess level' is sorta similar, so I'm not an anal person to live with, and he isn't either. You hear stories about how the wife gets all frustrated because her husband's underwear is strewn all over the place...thank god I don't have to deal with that. Also, Yasir doesn't pee standing up, so I don't get that whole frustrating thing with the toilet seat being up. Although our condo can look like a pig sty from time to time, we usually come to a point where one of us takes a look around our house and shrieks "OHMYGOD WE'RE LIVING IN A DUMPSTER!!!" or "OHMYGOD WE JUST GOT ROBBED!!!!!!" followed by us both scurrying around, cleaning up. Simple. To my dear husband, here's to many more years of living together, in our own beautiful mess. And next year, insyaallah with a bouncing, crying, peeing and pooping baby Ayden thrown into the mix, our adventure begins all over again.

Can't wait :)

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

16 weeks pregnancy vlog


A short update and a tummy shot. This was before we found out we're having a boy, so I didn't include that in! Next vid :)

xxx

This is a happy post!

This post is long overdue! Counting my blessings today, which I should remind myself to do more often. Anyway, these are the things which make me believe that unicorns, My Little Ponies and everything else lovely in the world exist :

- My kitty Miu Miu coming to me for 'manja time'. What she does is run from out of nowhere, jumps onto the couch and into my lap, nuzzles her wet little nose onto my arm and purrs loudly :)

- New York Cheesecake doughnut from Krispy Kreme. I love the little cheesecake crumbs on top and the lemon filling. Mmm-mmm!


Check out the doughnut-y goodness. Yasir had the choc one with some cream filling - his was pretty yummy too


- Eating one dessert after the other : Red velvet cupcake, followed by sticky date pudding from Delicious. I FULLY recommend the pudding, it is divine! The pudding is served hot, topped with vanilla ice cream and a side of butterscotch sauce. Oh god.

Sticky date pudding orgasmic bliss!


- Pancakes for breakfast!

- Ruffling Yasir's hair first thing when I wake up :)

- Doing my mak nenek dance for Yasir and making him laugh

- Cute baby clothes! So many cute onezies at Mothercare! eeeek! Yasir and I were fiddling with a snowman suit and scheming about stuffing Ayden into one for Christmas. Muahahaha

- Doctor telling me I can eat anything and everything under the sun. Really?? More sushi for me!!! Kidding, kidding :p

- Dreaming about visiting Dicky and kakak in Vevey, Switzerland next year as a trio family! :D

sloppy kisses! xxx


la la la la Elmo song!


In a bit of a 'motherly' mood today :) Can't wait to sing this with Ayden! :D

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Blue!


What are little boys made of, made of?
What are little boys made of?
Snips and snails and puppy dog tails;
That's what little boys are made of.


It's a boy! Little Ayden Hood :) Insyaallah.